top of page
Home: Welcome

How to Adapt to Change

Updated: Sep 14, 2020

Hey there! You are looking absolutely radiant today, (stares transfixed for a moment, before continuing) this sun ain't got nothing on you... Okay, okay, you caught me. I ditched you two weeks in a row and now I'm trying to sweet talk my way back into your hearts. Let me be the adult and say I am truly sorry for not posting. It was my earnest intention to make up for it by posting later in the week but, I've been really preoccupied and unfortunately, the blog was momentarily placed on the back burner. Thankfully however, posting this week is a must so you guys need not jump into my dm's and crucify me.


As per my last post, I hope we've all been finding ways to keep our brains occupied and at the very least making an effort to keep our mental health in check. As I racked my brain this week for topics to write about, I had many ideas; however, each time I would try to write I'd have writer's block and then decide to change the topic. Many days later I have finally settled on a topic that I think will be most applicable to what many people are going through now.


So, 2020 despite many convictions that "this was gonna be my year", has 4 months in left us feeling more confused than ever. Some of us probably even feeling miles away from achieving the goals we set at the start of the year. What to do you ask? Simple, adapt. One lesson I think everyone needs to learn before they turn 20 is that life is ever-changing.


Change can come into our lives as result of crises (as is the case for many people now with Covid 19), as a result of choice or it may even be as a result of mere chance. Regardless of what sparks the change we need to be adequately prepared to adapt to it.


If someone had told me years ago that in 2020 the world would be forced to operate with people working from home and students having virtual classes, I would have laughed in their face. Yet here we are, in month four of 2020 where such situations have become the order of the day. Leaving us with little to no room for complaining and instead an urgency to adapt to this new change as quickly as possible.


I don't know about you but for me the easiest way to grasp a new concept or idea is through the use of examples and suggestions. That said, I will be putting forward three strategies you can use to aid you in learning to adapt to change.


Strategy 1 - Change Your Mindset


We take for granted how many of our actions are controlled by the way we think. If left to our own devices we never do anything that could be considered outside of our comfort zones if we never have to. (Which is understandable because, let's be honest, who doesn't like their comfort zones?) Regardless, a worldwide pandemic is forcing us to uproot everything we once knew and in true survival of the fittest fashion, only 20 somethings with the right mindset to these changes will survive.


Think of things like this:

“Progress is impossible without change, and those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything”.— George Bernard Shaw


Strategy 2 - Find Meaning in Your Life


What are my goals? aspirations? What do I need to do to attain them? In five years from now where or who do I want to be?


In order to find meaning in your life, you need to be able to identify what is important in your life. Such a realization will give you a sense of purpose and the drive you need to successfully adapt and manage the impact of change in your life.


Strategy 3 - Let Go of Your Regrets


A life in quarantine, with no school or work obligations to worry about, leaves a lot of room to reminisce. While this isn't necessarily a bad thing, it becomes problematic if we spend all our days on what would've been if a Corona outbreak didn't occur, rather than trying to adapt to the changes that the pandemic has inspired.


A life marred by regrets will have a huge impact on how you respond to change. Think of things like this, it is the events of change that present opportunities in life, so if you are looking back at your past you may miss the opportunities of the present and the future.


As always thank you for reading. If you haven't already, go follow us on Instagram @survivingyour20somethings and on Facebook @survivingyour20somethings. Don't forget to like, share, comment and subscribe. See you guys next week!!!




Like a road stop sign that warns you of incoming traffic, this image is a change ahead sign that warns you that on your journey there will be changes up ahead.
Change Ahead

Juanique Smiling in Purple Dress_edited.jpg

Hi There!

I'm Juanique better known as Jae T.

A 20something on a mission to impart as many Life Hacks, Career Development Tips, and Adulting Tricks, to young adults looking not just to survive but thrive as they navigate year 20something.

Not yet a subscriber?

Sign up TODAY!

Interests
bottom of page